top of page

Welcome to Week 2!

Hello Parents!

Welcome to week 2 of working at home! I hope that we are all beginning to find a routine that works for us. This is a time of big adjustments for families, so I understand that this information can be overwhelming to some. To that end, for this week, I am not going to send home any new resources, I am simply going to review what was shared last week:

For working on Math with your child, I have these two online resources you can use:

Khan academy - our class code is: B22SU86T (I have assigned a fractions unit as well as a 2D and 3D geometry unit for students) - This is a great resource for teachng students new concepts.

Prodigy - This week's focus is on 2D and 3D geometry. This is a "fun" mah resource that is good for practicing skills they've already learned.

For Language resources, I have the following:

RAZ Kids - Great to for your child to practice reading at their level

Readworks - I've assigned some short passages for students to read and answer some multiple choice and short answer questions about the passage. Our class code for Readworks is: 3SJKQT. For those who finished last week's passages, I have added a couple of new ones.

In Hapara, I've added the new weekly homework as well as a new writing passage for students.

For those of you unfamiliar with accessing Hapra for homework, here are the instructions:

Go to the student portal (can be accessed through ocsb.ca or the school website). The link to the student portal can be found in a tab along the top of either web pages.

When you are prompted for login information, use your child's ocsb account and password. (all students in the class are familiar with using this. It's how we login to our chromebooks, also the information is at the front page of their agenda if they forget).

Click on the Hapara link

To find the weekly homework, click on the HRM folder.

To find the writing prompts, click on the LAN folder.

I hope you are finding these resources helpful and if you have any questions, please send me an email at mrsdohonick@gmail.com.

I will be sending an email soon for us to all to have a virtual meeting over Google Meet. Please keep your eyes out for that email!

Mrs. Dohonick

bottom of page