top of page

Welcome to Week 2


Dear Parents,

Welcome to week two of learning from home. I hope that everyone was able to login to Hapara last week and take a look at our weekly workspace. Our goal with this workspace is to streamline our lessons and place them all in one easy to access location.

Some notes from last week:

  • If your child is finishing the work quickly, and would like some additional work, please take a look at the calendar located at the top of the workspace. For each day, there is a suggested extra activity for students to complete (ranging from an Art Activity, to Prodigy practice).

  • If you child is completing the PRINTABLE homework, the only way for me to see the work is for you to EMAIL it to me (mrsdohonick@gmail.com). If you try to submit it through Hapara, I only see a blank PDF file.

  • If you and your child are having trouble creating accounts with any of the online resources I’ve provided, please email me: mrsdohonick@gmail.com and I will be more than happy to give you a call and walk you through the process.

Google Form:

Last week, the grade 3 team sent out a survey to parents to find out how the work we’ve been providing is working out for families. We want to make sure we are sending the appropriate amount, that it is easy for you to access and understand, and find out if there is anything additional we can do to support your at home learning journey. If you have not had a chance yet to fill out the survey, please take a moment to complete it this week. We appreciate your support with this.

Google Meet

I know that most of our students look forward to meeting with each other on Google Meet. It’s the next best way for us to meet when we can’t be together as a classroom. Going forward, I will have one Google Meet planned for your child a week. Some weeks, we will do large groups. Other weeks, I will have small group sessions that are focused on a Reading or Math task.

This week’s Google Meet will be scheduled on:

Wednesday April 15th. There will be a meeting at 10:00AM and 2:00PM

I will send an invitation to the meeting through your child’s school email.

Your child will be invited to both and you can choose the meeting that best suits your schedule. (Again, students are more than welcome to attend both!)

This will be a large group session, where we will do our morning daily math routine, (bring a pencil and paper!), a sharing circle, and if there is time at the end, I will do a quick read aloud with them.

I hope everyone was able to find some time to unwind this Easter Weekend, despite the change in our routines. At my house, we had a virtual Easter supper with the Grandparents. It wasn’t the same as years past, but it was still a special memory for us.

Chrissy Dohonick

bottom of page