top of page

Weekly Update - April 19th

April 19, 2020

Dear Families,

It was really nice to see most of you this week! When we are able to virtually get together, it really feels like we are still part of a community. To continue with our tradition of weekly meetings, we will meet again on Wednesday April 22nd. Again, I will have a meeting at 10:00 and one at 2:00. Please join whichever meeting best works with your schedule. This week, we will start with a sharing circle and then we will do a Readworks reading together.

Communication

I will no longer be using mrsdohonick@gmail.com as a form of communication. From now on, emails will go through my work account chrissy.dohonick@ocsb.ca. If you have any student work to send to me to this new email address. I do apologize for this switch up, this will continue to be the preferred form of communication until this is over.

Readworks

I was really happy to see how many of you were using Readworks this week! It is an awesome resource to practice reading and answering comprehension questions.

One note: some students forgot to click the submit button when they were finished so I was not able to leave feedback or give a mark. I will send an email to you for next week’s reading if this happens. Also, I am able to log directly into readworks and see the results, so if your child completes the work within Readworks, you do not have to email the work to me.

Weekly Homework

In an effort to streamline what we provide for you, I have removed our Weekly Homework workspace from Hapara, and the weekly homework is now included within the main workspace for the week. It can be found on the top of the workspace.

Quill

We are introducing one more online program (I know, it’s a lot!). It is called Quill and is a fantastic resource for grammar practice. To set up an account, simply click on this link quill.org/join/luck-touch and create a username and password. Please note, it is very important that your child uses his or her OWN NAME when creating a username, that way I know who is completing the work.

1KM Walk

This week, we are introducing our Linear Measurement unit. Every year when I introduce students to this unit, I take them on a 1KM walk through our school neighbourhood. This year, we are unable to do this as a class, but it is still possible for you to do this as a family.

One of the daily assignments asks students to go for a 1KM walk as a family and time how long it takes you to walk this far (you can use a smartphone to measure the distance).

If you’d like to participate, take a picture while you are out on your walk, email the picture to me and I will create an iMovie of our walks. It will be a way for us to do this together, without physically being together.

Of course this activity is OPTIONAL. Only participate if it works for your family.

I can't wait to see the photos!

Hapara Session

Last week, Ms. Caminiti and Mr. St Louis sent out a Google form inviting parents to a Hapara ‘webinar’. The goal is to help parents learn to navigate the system. If you are interested in joining, but did not receive the invite, please send me an email and I will let them know. They are hosting two sessions:

Monday @6:30 & Tuesday @7:00.

Again, all of this work is provided in an effort to help you with working at home with your child. You may have some of your own work that you prefer to do, or some days might just be too challenging to find the time to sit down and do the work. And that’s OK! Our mental health is very important at a time like this, so please take care of yourselves.

Have a great week!

Chrissy Dohonick

bottom of page